2010: The Mixtape

Not a lot to say about this one. I’ve taken 18 of the best jams from the last year and thrown them all into one .zip file, slapped some custom artwork on there and threw ’em up on the internets for all to hear.

Due to my rampant OCD (thanks, Mom), I spent a long time working on several different tracklists before I settled on this one. It’ll barely fit on one disc and gives a pretty good sampling of the Best Music of 2010 (according to me). I’m already having second thoughts about a few of the selections on both the list and the mix, but I had to draw the line at some point and just be done with it. I will admit that there are a few songs on the mixtape that weren’t on any of the records from the list, but that’s just because it’s way easier to make a good song than to make a good album. Especially if you’re a rapper.

Chances are good that you might not like everything on here, but I can pretty much guarantee that you’ll like at least a few songs. Click here to get the jams. The full tracklist is after the jump…

Artist – Song – Album

  1. The Love Language – Pedals – From Libraries
  2. Sleigh Bells – Tell Them – From Treats
  3. Raekwon/Ghostface/Method Man – Criminology 2.5 – From the Wu-Revolution EP
  4. High On Fire – Snakes of the Devine – From Snakes of the Devine
  5. Kanye West – Monster – From My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
  6. Phantogram – Mouthful of Diamonds – From Eyelid Movies
  7. Grouplove – Colours – From the Grouplove EP
  8. Arcade Fire – Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains) – From The Suburbs
  9. The Morning Benders – Cold War (Nice Clean Fight) – From Big Echo
  10. Future Islands – Tin Man – From In Evening Air
  11. The Hood Internet – XX Gonna Give It To Ya – From www.thehoodinternet.com
  12. Yeasayer – I Remember – From Odd Blood
  13. Kanye West – Good Friday – From the G.O.O.D. Fridays singles
  14. Torche – Out Again – From the Songs for Singles EP
  15. Freddie Gibbs – National Anthem (Fuck the World) – From the Str8 Killa EP
  16. Kylesa – Don’t Look Back – From Spiral Shadow
  17. DJ Khaled – All I Do Is Win – From Victory
  18. Los Campesinos! – The Sea is a Good Place to Think of the Future – From Romance is Boring
One Response to “2010: The Mixtape”

  1. What can I say… I feel like an Uncle to this list!

Leave a Reply

