This Woman is Unstoppable

My Mom’s a total bad ass. When I got to White Lake yesterday, the water was perfect but there was no one around to ride with. I was pretty bummed until Mom stepped up and drove for my first real set behind the boat in about three months. I rode terrible and it was pretty depressing, but it wasn’t that big of a deal because Mom was the only other person who saw it and she kind of has to love me anyway. And not only did she drive the boat yesterday, but she pulled me again this afternoon for a 45 minute set. She wasn’t exactly up to speed on how to drive for wakeskating and she still has a few things to work on, but we had a little training session this afternoon and I think she’s going to pick everything up pretty quickly from here on. So thanks for driving, Mom. You better get ready for Thanksgiving…

– – –

Attention Wilmington: if you like going to see good bands, you should probably go the The Soapbox on Tuesday night because Old Canes are playing a show. Although their website describes them as Folk Rock/Americana/Indie, I’ll just describe them as “The band from Tim and Cary’s part in No Name Losers” They’re one of those bands that most people can get down to no matter what kind of music they’re into. At any rate, I’m getting pretty excited about the show. In the immortal words of Will I. Am: “I’ve got a feeling that tonight’s going to be a good night.” Well, not necessarily tonight…I was thinking more about Tuesday night, but you get what I’m saying, right? It’s going to be fun.

– – –

Weekend Playlist

  1. Old Canes – “Feral Harmonic”
  2. Ghostface Killah – “Supreme Clientele” (Mom’s selection)
  3. Dan Deacon – “Bromst”
  4. Big Business – “The Drift”
One Response to “This Woman is Unstoppable”

  1. […] Just got out of the water after a chilly 30 minute set on White Lake, courtesy of my little sister. I gotta hand it to the Holland girls; they’re troopers when it comes to driving a boat. […]

Leave a Reply

