How I Spent My Weekend: By Brad Holland

We just got home from a long weekend in Orlando and I have to say it went pretty well. The weather cooperated for the most part and the riders seemed pretty pumped to go out and get some shots. We logged over 1,400 miles on the Holland Family Truckster and I’m pretty delirious from lack of sleep, but it was a good way to officially kick things off. I’ve taken the liberty of outlining how things went down for anyone who’s interested:

Thursday
3:00 PM – I pull out of my office in Greensboro and head toward White Lake to meet up with Nick and Rob.
5:00 PM – Stuck in traffic in Raleigh. Not pumped.
9:00 PM – Finally meet up with the boys and leave White Lake.
10:00 PM – We’re listening to Patton Oswalt and Nick is laughing so hard, he almost poops in his pants.

Friday
12:00 AM – Coosawatchie, SC: Rob points out that my front left tire is worn all the way through to the steel. We cross our fingers and hope we make it to Florida.
1:30 AM – We stop for Waffle House somewhere in Georgia. Nick notices our waitress is drunk. We decide this is going to be a fun trip.waffles.jpg
5:00 AM – We arrive at Adam Fields’ house in Longwood, Florida. Everyone passes out.
12:00 PM – It’s cloudy and cold, so we decide not to shoot and just go out and ride on Lake Brantley.
4:00 PM – Everyone heads over to Kara Austin’s house on Lake Conway to go shoot her, Adam Greer, and Robby McFarland. The light still sucks. but everyone gets some shots.
7:00 PM – Rob makes everyone dinner and we crash early.

Saturday
5:45 AM – Adam barges into our room and wakes us up. We all head over to Lake Conway.
7:30 AM – We shoot all morning with both Adams, Robby, Kara, and Alex Hamrick. Big thanks to Gibb Gibbons and Nick G. for coming over and letting us use their cameras and Dustin Prescott for waking up and bringing his boat so we could shoot from it.
11:00 AM to 3:00 PM – Everyone makes fun of Kara’s crazy roommate for four hours straight. Both Kara and Adam Greer say that they thought I was 30 years old. I am officially pissed.

robby-bike.jpg

3:30 PM – Afternoon shoot. We see a bright red snake in the canal and Adam Greer tries his best to kill Kara, Robby, and Kara’s non-crazy roomate Meagan on the tube. Meagan says that she thought I was 22. Meagan is awesome.
7:00 PM – Dinner and beers. I try not to think about what time we have to get up in the morning.

Sunday
5:30 AM – For one reason or another, everybody but Adam Fields decides that they’re too tired to wakeboard.

shooting.jpg

7:30 AM – Slalom skiers are not happy with us, but Nick gets some good shots of Adam from the tube. Everyone takes a quick set and we head back to Adam’s house.
11:30 AM – Adam leaves for another photo shoot, we pack up and hit the road. Nick watches footage on his GL2 on the way home and seems pretty pumped.
6:00 PM – I finally watch “Grandma’s Boy” on the way home. I can’t believe movies that horrible are allowed to be made. Seriously guys; that movie sucks.

All in all, it was a successful trip. Nick’s heading back down there next month for three weeks or something, so expect more good things. Keep checking back for a sample of what we got. I’ll post some pictures as soon as Rob quits slacking and emails them to me. Once again, big thanks to all the riders and everyone who helped us out over the weekend and huge thanks to Adam Fields for letting us crash at his house. If anybody’s thinking about spending some time at Adam’s wakeboard camp over the winter you should definitely make the trip; he’s got a sick setup down there. Check out his website for more information.

I’m going to bed.

5 Responses to “How I Spent My Weekend: By Brad Holland”

  1. I mean you have to admit that that movie had its funny parts though right?

  2. telepromptedanthems Says:

    Yeah, you got me. I will admit that there were funny parts. The guy with the car bed was pretty awesome.

  3. While we are admiting things… I am going to admit that kariokie and early mourning wakeboarding don;t mix……………… But friends and highly motivated spirits do mix…. I think it will show in the clips to come.

  4. dog slayer Says:

    Ya know what else mixes? Spelling karaoke correctly and posting replies.
    (sorry, had to look it up myself)

  5. Hello,
    My Name is, Paul
    lots of info on here
    this is my page:

    http://xkaDL7p.spaces.live.com/

Leave a Reply

